“Music is Life Itself.”  -Louis Armstrong

If you missed the Band Spring Concert on May 24th in the High School Auditorium, it is available to watch by clicking here. The concert featured Fox Band, Concert Band, Wind Ensemble, Drumline, and the Jazz Ensemble.

It was the final SHS Band performance of the 2022-23 school year. The following SHS Seniors were recognized for their dedication and participation in the band:

  • Lance Brown
  • Carter Doud
  • Norma Gomez
  • Matthew Heinsch
  • Avery Horner
  • Jazmyn Lewis
  • Anna Muller
  • Emma Nussbaum
  • Chris Seifer
  • Derrick Snyder
  • Elijah Thomas
  • Eric Witczak

Special congratulations and recognition to the following:

  • Wind Ensemble and Concert Band in qualifying for the State Band Championship.
  • Jazz Ensemble for their performance at the Mt. Hood Jazz Festival that qualified the ensemble for the OMEA State Jazz Band Competition.
  • Carter Doud placed 2nd in the state on his Tenor Sax Solo. Carter was also the recipient of the Louis Armstrong Award, which recognizes the top jazz students at high schools in the United States for outstanding musical achievement and incredible dedication to the program.
  • Lance Brown composed Concerto Grosso #1 in D Minor for the Wind Ensemble and Concert Band to perform at the State Band Contest. Lance was also the recipient of the John Philip Sousa Award, which recognizes superior musicianship, dependability, loyalty, and cooperation.